If it has been a few years since you last looked at the Missouri driver’s handbook, now may be a good time to consider a refresher. Each year, the handbook is updated with the latest law changes (including speed limits and laws regarding texting/talking on the phone). If you do not have the latest copy of the Driver Guide, Missouri does offer it online – and we recommend that you review it. Blue Springs sees its fair share of auto accidents, and often, these accidents are caused by driver inattention or failure to obey the rules of the road. By refreshing yourself with the latest laws, you may be able to avoid not only citations and points against your driver’s license, but accidents, too.
Driver’s License Requirements
You are required to have a Missouri driver’s license if you reside in the state and you are 16 years or older, and want to drive a vehicle. If you recently moved to Missouri, you will need to have a driver’s license from another state, and then you must apply for a Missouri license. There are also special permits in the state for instructional drivers (those without a license) and motorcycle riders.
Like most states, you are required to carry auto insurance. The state requires that all motor vehicle operators and their owners have a form of liability insurance. This covers your financial responsibility in the event that you are involved in a motor vehicle collision. To register your vehicle or renew your license plates, you will need proof of such insurance.
The minimum coverage requirements for the state are:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury
- $50,000 per crash for bodily injury
- $10,000 per crash for property damage
You are also required to have uninsured motorist coverage of $25,000 for bodily injury per person, and $50,000 for bodily injury per accident.
Failure to keep insurance could result in a suspension of your driver’s license, as well as fines.
Safe Driving Tips for Driving in Blue Springs, MO
To avoid the types of accidents that cause serious injury and roadway fatalities, always drive alert, buckled, and cautious.
- Drive Alert. Driving alert means keeping a careful lookout for signs, traffic signals, other vehicles, and pedestrians. It also means to drive free from all distractions that cause drivers to divert their eyes or attention from the road. We advocate “glove boxing” cell phones so they do put you at risk for distracted driving collision.
- Drive Buckled. Given the rising number of impatient, aggressive, and impatient drivers, wearing a seat belt is now more important than ever. In fact. Statistics show that the simple habit of wearing a seat belt would prevent 50% of traffic fatalities. In terms of protection from serious injury and death, seat belts in use prevent occupant ejection and are instrumental in minimizing head, neck, chest, and spinal cord injuries caused in motor vehicle collisions.
- Drive Cautious. Be a patient, composed driver whenever you are behind the wheel. Do not fall prey to “pressure driving” where you are hurried or frustrated by other drivers or traffic delays. Speeding or rushing is futile and makes little difference in your arrival time. Develop a defensive driving approach by anticipating traffic movement and roadway hazards.
Seek out Legal Consultation if Injured in a Blue Springs, MO Crash
If you have been injured in an auto accident in Blue Springs or the surrounding areas of Missouri, contact Horn Law, P.C. immediately. We advocate for our clients, and ensure that they receive fair and full compensation for their injuries. Schedule a consultation today by calling 816-795-7500 or filling out our online contact form with your questions.